Before Beauchamp College moved to its current site in Oadby in 1964 the college was situated in Kibworth Beauchamp and known as Kibworth Beauchamp Grammar School. Records show evidence of the school having been in existence since 1359 with Dom Robert Mason being the first recorded Schoolmaster from 1520 to 1540.
In 1957 Bernard Elliott, wrote ‘A History of Kibworth Beauchamp Grammar School’. This book gives an interesting and profound insight into the history of the School. The then Headmaster, Mr L. T. Daw summarises well;
“At Kibworth Beauchamp many generations of pupils have been proud of our long history, and now, thanks to Mr. Bernard Elliott, we can also boast of this short History. It will be a great encouragement, as we strive to ensure a worthy future for the School, to have this survey of the many fluctuations in its fortunes, and of those who have served it well”.
To read ‘A History of Kibworth Beauchamp’ click here.